Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Course Description

Thrust Area and Coursework:

The main thrust areas in Mathematics are Differential Equations, Mathematical Physics, Analysis, Combinatorics, Geometry, Optimization Theory, Symmetry Analysis and Computational Mathematics. MS coursework will be of 24 credit hours, followed by a thesis of 6 credit hours. The PhD programme will consist of 18 credit hours of coursework and 30 credit thesis. The course outline and contents will be declared individually for each student from their chosen research areas, as advised by their supervisor. There will also be seminar courses that must be cleared but will carry no credits.

Comprehensive Examination:

The MS students will register for the thesis every semester after completing 24 credit hours of coursework and PhD students after passing the comprehensive examination. The comprehensive examination is based on core courses and on four of the elective subjects.

Important Courses:

Algebra, Analysis, Geometry, Differential Equations, Computational Mathematics, Functional Analysis, Ordinary and Partial Differential Equations, Continuum Mechanics, Special Functions, Mathematical Modelling, General Relativity, Cosmology, Spinor Formalism, Stellar Structures, Relativistic Astrophysics, Relativistic Astrophysics of the Galactic Centre, Classical Field Theory, Quantum Mechanics, Quantum Field Theory, Particle Physics etc.

MS Thesis

  • MATH-899 Thesis (6.0 credits)

PhD Thesis

  • MATH-999 Thesis (36.0 credits)

Note: PhD Students will complete the requirements of 800/900 level coursework to be decided by the doctoral Guidance and Examination Committee (GEC).

Course list
(All courses carry 3 credits unless mentioned otherwise)​